

Hilda MacDonald Essex County Warden The Corporation of the County of Essex

March 19, 2025

Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative

Board of Directors Gino Moretti, Co-Chair <u>gmoretti@stanicet.com</u> Ryan Sorenson, Co-Chair <u>ryan.sorenson@sheboyganwi.gov</u>

c/o Jonathan Alternberg, President and CEO, Phillippe Murphy-Rheaume, Chief Development Officer P.O. Box 1332 New Lenox, IL 60451, USA

Prime Minister of Canada

Attention: Right Honourable Mark Carney, House of Commons, Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6 Sent via email <u>mark.carney@parl.gc.ca</u>

Office of the Premier

Attention: Honourable Doug Ford, Legislative Building, Queen's Park Sent via email <u>premier@ontario.ca</u>

To All Concerned,

Re: Resolution of County of Essex Council RE Fresh Water Protection and Agreements

The Council of the County of Essex, Ontario, Canada, at its Wednesday, March 19, 2025 meeting, adopted the following resolution Fresh Water Protection and Agreements:

Whereas the County of Essex is touched by fresh water at both the local municipal and upper tier level; and

Whereby Ontario holds more than half of the world's fresh water; and Whereas multiple bilateral agreements between Canada and the United States of America have been signed, ensuring that this fresh water is protected for current users and future generations; and

Whereas, the County of Essex is a member municipality of the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative, a bi-national coalition concerned with the ethical and responsible use, and protection and preservation of fresh water resources; and,

Whereas the current US President, while campaigning stated that 'there is a large faucet' in Canada, indicating that there is 'extra' water in Canada; and

519-776-6441 ext. 1327 TTY 1-877-624-4832

360 Fairview Ave. W.
Suite # 314 Essex, ON N8M 1Y6

🖵 countyofessex.ca

Whereas current bilateral agreements do not appear to be followed by the new US Government Administration in a number of areas.

095-2025 Moved By Michael Akpata **Seconded By** Crystal Meloche

That the County of Essex call upon the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative to advocate for continued adherence to established agreements regarding fresh water resources and to continued bi-national, state, provincial, and municipal efforts to protect and conserve these resources; and,

That Essex County Council call upon the Federal and Provincial Governments to take any and all necessary steps to ensure that the current agreements that are in place for the protection of fresh water are followed, so that the residents of the County of Essex can continue to maintain access to clean fresh water; and,

That the Federal and Provincial Governments ensure that water outflow is included in any discussions with the United States Government as part of ongoing interactions; and further,

That both Canadian and American federal, provincial, state and municipal governments maintain funding envelopes for the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative

Carried Unanimously

The County of Essex has distributed this resolution broadly to Ontario municipalities, municipal organizations, and to Federal and Provincial government leaders. The County further appeals to the GLSLCI Board, that this resolution be supported, and disseminated by GLSLCI to its members, and government agencies both in the United States and Canada.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Regards,

Its MecDuald

Hilda MacDonald Warden, County of Essex



360 Fairview Ave. W.
Suite # 314 Essex, ON N8M 1Y6

📮 countyofessex.ca

CC:

- The Honourable Gary Anandasangaree, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs <u>gary.anand@parl.gc.ca</u>
- The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources jonathan.wilkinson@parl.gc.ca
- The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of International Trade and Intergovernmental Affairs and President of the King's Privy Council for Canada <u>dominic.leblanc@parl.gc.ca</u>
- The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Canada jonathan.wilkinson@parl.gc.ca
- The Honourable Mike Harris, Minister of Natural Resources, Province of Ontario minister.mnrf@ontario.ca
- The Honourable Todd McCarthy, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks, Province of Ontario <u>minister.mecp@ontario.ca</u>
- Municipalities of the County of Essex, Ontario Clerk's Office
- Andrew Dowie, MPP Windsor-Tecumseh, <u>Andrew.Dowie@pc.ola.org</u>
- Anthony Leardi, MPP Essex, <u>Anthony.Leardi@pc.ola.org</u>
- Hon. Trevor Jones, MPP Chatham Kent Leamington, <u>Trevor.Jones@pc.ola.org</u>
- Lisa Gretzky, MPP Windsor West, LGretzky-QP@ndp.on.ca
- Federation of Canadian Municipalities Rebecca Bligh, President resolutions@fcm.ca
- Association of Municipalities of Ontario Robin Jones, President <u>amopresident@amo.on.ca</u> Brian Rosborough, Executive Director, <u>brosborough@amo.on.ca</u>
- Western Ontario Warden's Caucus Kate Burns Gallagher, Executive Director <u>kate@wowc.ca</u> Amy Martin, Chair <u>chair@wowc.ca</u>
- Eastern Ontario Warden's Caucus Meredith Staveley-Watson, Director of Government Relations and Policy, <u>info@eowc.org</u>; Warden Bonnie Clark Chair
- Irek Kusmierczyk, MP Windsor-Tecumseh, <u>Irek.Kusmierczyk@parl.gc.ca</u>
- Dave Epp, MP Chatham-Kent- Leamington, <u>Dave.Epp@parl.gc.ca</u>
- Chris Lewis, MP Essex, <u>Chris.Lewis@parl.gc.ca</u>
- Brian Masse, MP Windsor West, brian.masse@parl.gc.ca
- Sandra Zwiers, Chief Administrative Officer, County of Essex szwiers@countyofessex.ca
- Katherine Hebert, Clerk, County of Essex khebert@countyofessex.ca

519-776-6441 ext. 1327 TTY 1-877-624-4832

360 Fairview Ave. W.
Suite # 314 Essex, ON N8M 1Y6

🖵 countyofessex.ca