PO Box 488 201 Atwood Avenue Rainy River, ON POW 1L0

1



Office Phone: (807) 852-3244 Clerk Phone: (807) 852-3978 Fax: (807) 852-3553 Email: rainyriver@tbaytel.net Website: www.rainyriver.ca

Town of Rainy River

RESOLUTION

DATE: October 10, 2023 MOVED BY SECONDED BY RESOLUTION: 23-020

"WHEREAS the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River is a small community in Northwestern Ontario with limited financial resources;

AND WHEREAS the Town of Rainy River owns and operates the water treatment facilities, water distribution facilities, wastewater treatment facilities and wastewater collection facilities which service the residents of the Town of Rainy River;

AND WHEREAS the Town of Rainy River requires Class II Water Treatment Operators for its facilities;

AND WHEREAS the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River attempts to provide training as prescribed by the Province of Ontario to obtain the necessary classification(s);

AND WHEREAS the Town of Rainy River has been fortunate in obtaining a full staff compliment eager to take on the responsibilities of water treatment and distribution and wastewater collection and treatment operations;

AND WHEREAS any new employees of the Town of Rainy River require certification;

AND WHEREAS training is becoming increasingly difficult to procure;

AND WHEREAS the Province of Ontario has implemented stringent review of water treatment plants to ensure compliance;

AND WHEREAS the Province of Ontario is promoting and providing an increased number of training opportunities for a variety of trades;

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River petitions the Province of Ontario to expand water treatment training opportunities for communities within Ontario;

AND FURTHER the training be delivered in a method that is flexible and affordable;

AND FURTHER utilize existing networks, such as Contact North, for on-line exam preparation and exam supervision;

AND FURTHER the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River forward copies of this resolution to Premier Doug Ford, Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks Andrea Khanjin, MPP Greg Rickford, Walkerton Clean Water Centre, Ontario Municipalities."

ABSTAIN	 CARRIE
AYES	 DEFEATI
NAYES	
	1

D. ARMSTRONG _____ D. EWALD _____ J. HAGARTY _____ B. HELGESON _____ N. IVALL _____ M. KREGER _____ G. PROST _____

ŧ

)

MAYOR OR ACTING MAYOR



in the heart of Ontario's Sunset Country