

The Corporation of the Town of LaSalle Minutes of a meeting of the Accessibility Advisory Committee

April 6, 2017, 4:00 p.m. First Floor LaSalle Civic Centre 5950 Malden Road

Present: Michael Akpata, Crystal Meloche, John Boyko, Savitri Dhiman,

Russ Hazael, and Diane Quenneville.

Also Present: Kevin Miller, CAO, Peter Marra, Director of Public Works, Mark

Beggs, Manager of Parks and Roads and Agatha Armstrong,

Deputy Clerk.

Absent: Jeff Kapasi and Cynthia Butcher

1. Call to Order

Councillor Akpata calls the meeting to order at 4:00 pm.

2. <u>Disclosures of Pecuniary Interest</u>

None.

3. Adoption of Minutes from Previous Meeting

Moved By: Russ Hazael

Seconded By: Diane Quenneville

That the minutes of the meeting of the LaSalle Accessibility Advisory Committee held March 9, 2017 BE ADOPTED as presented.

Carried.

4. Business Arising from the Minutes

5. <u>Business Items</u>

VOLLEMER COMPLEX SPLASH PAD/PLAYGROUND

K. Miller introduces Janet Elliott and Alex Elliott from Open Space Solutions, noting that they were the successful proponents selected for the project and are here to provide an update to the committee regarding the accessible playground and splash pad.

Janet Elliott and Alex Elliott review the various features of the accessible splash pad and playground, indicating that the project will commence the week of April 18, 2017 and will be complete by the third week of June, 2017.

The following discussion ensues regarding the playground and splash pad:

- The various accessible features
- Surface of the splash pad and the playground area for wheel chair users
- Seating and proper shade availability
- Picnic tables
- Accessible routes in between splash pad and playground
- Hours of operation of the splash pad
- Field trip with the accessibility committee once the project is complete.

6. Next Meeting

Thursday May 4, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. in the LaSalle Room, main floor, LaSalle Civic Centre.

7. Adjournment

The meeting is adjourned at the call of the Chair at 4:55 pm.

Co-Chair: Councillor Michael Akpata
Co-Chair: Councillor Crystal Meloche
Deputy Clerk: Agatha Armstrong